Ten things you should know about Copa Libertadores

Ten things you should know about Copa Libertadores
The Birrey has won four Libertadores.

Copa Libertadores kicks off this 28 January 55th edition. Over the next seven months, the best teams in South America will try to conquer the most prestigious continental tournament in the southern hemisphere in a competition that this year presents some other significant development, as the dispute of the one-off final next 13 of August. In Colgados for football we make a nod to the Champions of South America and are ten points that every good football fan should know about this historic competition.

1- of 2014 It will be the 55 edition. Argentina is the country that more times has won the title with 22 trophies, followed by Brazil 17 and Uruguay 8. Clubs that lifted the title more times were Independent (7), Boca Juniors (6) and Penarol (5). It has never been won by a Mexican team although once they reached the final Chivas and Cruz Azul.

2- The competition format is comprised of 38 teams, of which 26 already they qualified for the second phase consisting of 32 teams and eight groups of four. There are four Argentine teams, four Brazilians and two of Chile, Uruguay, Paraguay, Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia's other Mexico, who you are allowed to enter the competition. The six remaining qualifiers will choose from a previous phase in which enter the fray 12 teams, including Brazil and Argentina fifth and third of the remaining national associations.

The groups Copa Libertadores 2014 were determined while.
The groups Copa Libertadores 2014 were determined while.

3- Alberto Spencer is the top scorer in the history of the competition with 54 goals in 87 matches. Followed by Fernando Morena. They have ever been top scorers in the competition stars like Pele, Neymar, Luis Fabiano, Salvador Cabañas Zico Luis Artime.

4- Until 2013 was the official sponsor Banco Santander. But nevertheless, Bridgestone entered that course, who initiated a new era of competition, making it more accessible to fans through social networks.

5- Carlos Bianchi is the trainer who more times He has won the title with four titles, three with Boca Juniors and Velez Sarsfield other with. The “Viceroy” It is the most successful coach, Francisco Sá, winningest player, six trophies.

The Birrey has won four times the Libertadores.
The “Viceroy” He has won four times the Libertadores.

6- Jorge Gonçalves (Peñarol), Gustavo Matosas (Peñarol) and Juan Sebastian Veron (Estudiantes de La Plata) Copa Libertadores succeeded in the same club as his parents. It's just a story over a cup “look but do not touch” as pointed legend referring to the bad luck that gives touch before time.

7- The champion of the competition can be about eight million dollars in prizes. Just the fact of participating in the second phase and means taking 900.000 Dollars, 300.000 more than the previous edition due to the strong increase in television rights. Was the last champion Atletico Mineiro. Whoever wins, also, It has as a reward play the Mundialito Club.

8- The competition is played over two legs from knockout. Having World, after the quarterfinals, there will be a break in the competition, it will resume immediately after the World Cup competition held.

9- Peñarol has participated in 41 of the 54 disputed issues, one more than Nacional. There are many illustrious absences this year. It will not be Boca Juniors, River Plate, Corinthians, Sao Paulo, Corinthians Colo-colo.

10- As we noted earlier, the final will for the first time on neutral ground. There are 17 venues that choose to host the final match 13 of August, including Maracana, Centennial Stadium, but not the Bombonera and the Monumental. a number of requirements are required to hold parties at each stage of the competition. A) Yes, encounters the first phase and phase groups require a minimum of 10.000 viewers, knockout to semi least 20.000 spectators and the final enclosure accommodate at least 40.000 people.

Julio Muñoz

Journalist, specialist in international football and retro. I write in Colgadosporelfutbol.com and you can follow me at @ juliomv1982


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!