Spanish tennis players who won the Masters Cup

Spanish tennis players who won the Masters Cup
Alex Corretja was the last Spanish tennis player to win the Masters Cup. Precisely before another Spanish, Carlos Moya. PHOTO: Eurosport

Who are the Spanish tennis players who have managed to win the Masters Cup? Currently known as Nitto ATP Finals, is the competition that, every year since 1970, brings together the best tennis players in the world according to the ranking.

The competition system has changed on several occasions. But nevertheless, have usually participated 8 players divided into two groups. The two best classified of each group dispute the semifinals and the winner of each of them goes to the grand final..

The Spanish tennis players who have won the Masters Cup

Although in Spain we can boast of great tennis players throughout history, Only two have achieved the prestigious Masters Cup in the individual box: Manuel Orantes Y Alex Corretja.

The first of them, absolute legend of tennis in our country, got it in the edition of 1978 held in houston (U.S). His rival in the final was the Pole Wojtek Fibak that made things very complicated for Spanish. Not in vain, that clash was decided in a total of five sets (5-7; 6-2; 0-6; 7-6 Y 6-1).

They had to pass 20 years for another Spaniard to win the title in the ATP finals. Was in the year 1998 when Alex Corretja achieved an epic victory against his compatriot Carlos Moya. On this occasion the clash was played in the German city of Hannover. Again, the match was turned into five sets, with the Catalan comeback included (3-6; 3-6, 7-5; 6-3 Y 7-5).

Masters Cup: The great title that Rafa Nadal is missing

When one takes a look at the Spaniards who claimed the Masters Cup, cannot stop missing a tennis player as important as Rafa Nadal. The title has resisted him throughout his career when he went to the Balearic Islands while the other members of the Big Three, Roger Federer y Novak Djokovic, they won it in 6 occasions the first and 5 the second.

The Manacor tennis player reached the final on two occasions but was defeated, precisely, before Roger Federer (2010) Y Novak Djokovic (2013).

Javi Argudo

Javi Argudo

Football Geek. The first great experience of my life was to discover the PC Football. You can follow me on @JaviArgudo
error: Content is protected !!