The history of the Copa Libertadores, the most important tournament in South America

The history of the Copa Libertadores, the most important tournament in South America
Copa Libertadores, el torneo de clubes más prestigioso de Sudamérica. PHOTO: Infobae

Copa Libertadores, created in 1960, has a lot of feats, memorable feats and definitions. Here we review the history of the tournament, los países más ganadores de la competición y los momentos más significativos.

In 1960, the Copa Libertadores had its premiere with just 7 teams, Representatives of Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Uruguay, Paraguay, Chile and Colombia, who were the champions of their respective leagues. In this first edition, the champion was Peñarol, who won the title after beating Olympia in the final, showing great solidity, temperament and determination. Likewise, the Aurinegro set was consecrated again the following year, beating Palmeiras this time.

After the titles of Peñarol, the unforgettable Santos de Pelé appeared, who taught an extraordinary football. El Peixe was champion of America in 1962 (after surpassing Peñarol himself) Y 1963 (defeating Boca Juniors without extenuating circumstances), being one of the most outstanding Brazilian teams in history.

In later years, they were consecrated Independent (1964 Y 1965), Racing (1967) and Students (1968, 1969 Y 1970). El “Pincha” fue el primer tricampeón del torneo.

The hegemony of Independiente

Independent, the top winner of the Copa Libertadores (with 7 consecrations), imposed its hegemony in the decade of 70, achieving 4 titles consecutively, a figure that is record.

With an offensive style and the skill of his figures (Bochini, Bertoni and Santoro, among others), the "Red" was unstoppable and celebrated in 1972, 1973, 1974 Y 1975, beating the University of Peru in the finals, Colo-Colo, San Pablo and Unión Española.

His next conquest was in 1984, after beating the Porto Alegre Guild. Then, the Argentine team could not win the title again and, in fact, did not again have an outstanding performance in the tournament. Anyway, continues to be the team with the most consecrations so far.

The decade of 80, very couple

In the decade of 80, there were many different champions, without a very marked predominance of any particular team, unlike what had happened in previous years.

In this sense, they consecrated 8 teams: National (1980), Flamengo (1981), Peñarol (1982), Guild (1983), Independent (1984), Argentinos Juniors (1985), River (1986) and Atlético Nacional (1989).

Only Peñarol and Nacional repeated their conquests in this decade, that they also celebrated in 1987 Y 1988 respectively, but without marking a hegemony, since they did not do it consecutively.

In the 90, superiority of Brazilian teams

In the 90, Brazilian teams imposed their hierarchy, with a luxurious and effective football that is worth noting.

San Pablo was champion in 1992 Y 1993; the Guild in 1995; the Cruzeiro in 1997; the Vasco Da Gama in 1998 and the Palmeiras in 1999, with an extremely attractive level of play, according to the idiosyncrasy of Brazilian soccer.

Bianchi's Boca Juniors

Boca Juniors, who had already been champion in 1977 Y 1978, celebrated again in the decade of 2000, from the hand of one of the most successful technicians that the Copa Libertadores had in its history: Carlos Bianchi.

The Argentinian, champion of America with Velez in 1994, achievement 3 titles with Boca Juniors in the 2000, 2001 Y 2003, with a fierce team, solid and pragmatic, who knew how to beat Palmeiras in the finals, Blue Cross and Saints. A) Yes, Xeneize was one of the most winning teams of this decade.

The River de Gallardo

River also had its golden age with an elite coach: Marcelo Gallardo, winner of several international titles, among them 2 Libertadores (2015 Y 2018); 1 South American Cup (2014) Y 3 Recopa Sudamericana (2015, 2016 Y 2019).

The "Millionaire" was the most important team of this decade of 2010 Copa Libertadores, achieving a historical fact: beat your classic rival, Boca Juniors, at the end of the edition 2018, which curiously was played in Madrid.

Definitely, this party acquired a capital relevance, ya que fue la única final en la historia de la Copa Libertadores en la que estuvieron frente a frente dos clásicos rivales de un mismo país.

The most winning countries

Argentina and Brazil are the countries that won the most titles in the Copa Libertadores, with 25 titles for Argentina and 20 To Brazil.

Then, Uruguay stand out with 8 (the titles were Nacional and Peñarol); Paraguay with 3 (all from Olympia); Colombia 3 (2 of Atlético Nacional and 1 by Once Caldas); Chile 1 (Colo-Colo) and Ecuador 1 (League of Quito).

In this edition 2021, there will be a new brazilian champion, taking into account that the final will be Flamengo vs Palmeiras, in a duel that promises to be vibrant.

Likewise, expectations are growing by leaps and bounds around this definition, since the last champions of the continental tournament face (Flamengo was consecrated in 2019 and the Palmeiras in 2020).

The next edition of the Copa Libertadores will be the 27 November 2021 and the Swedish giant Betsson is clear about what this competition represents for many fans and bettors in the world. For those who already envision the next champion and are encouraged with a forecast in the final, can observe in detail the main characteristics of the Betsson sportsbook and Sportytrader. A very entertaining final is coming, that will take the main looks on the continent. It will be seen, so, which team will remain in the history of the tournament.

football hung


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!