La Copa de Oro de Campeones Mundiales de 1980

La Copa de Oro de Campeones Mundiales de 1980
Uruguay won the only Gold Cup of World Champions played so far. FOTO:

Last update 8 November, 2022 por Alberto Llopis

La Copa de Oro de Campeones Mundiales o “Mundialito” It was a competition that brought together all those who had won a World Cup up to the year 1980, year in which it was held. And the place chosen was none other than where it all began with the Mundial de 1930, Uruguay.

La Copa de Oro de Campeones Mundiales de 1980

Despite only having a single edition, It should be noted that the World Champions Gold Cup 1980 He enjoyed a great fame at the time, as it managed to gather the best teams in the world who lifted the World Cup, así como a Holanda, who attended the meeting on condition of double finalist editions 1974 y 1978 and as a substitute for Inglaterra, He resigned from the tournament selection.

The competition system was created around two groups of three teams, of which the best was going to the final. A) Yes, in the group 1 Uruguay were framed, Holanda and Italy, y en el 2, Brasil, Germany and Argentina. The grand finale was played between Uruguay y Brasil, as 30 years before in the ‘Maracanazo‘ and that again concluded with celestial victory by 2-1 thanks to goals from Barrios and Victorino. So the locals were the winners of the only edition held.

The great players who went through this Gold Cup

But the margin of victory, the tournament highlighted by the great games played, as well as by the presence of the best figures of the moment such as the Argentines Maradona y Ramon Diaz, Brazilian Socrates, los alemanes Rummenigge, Magath or basis for future Italy , champion of World Spain 82 two years after this Gold Cup.

football hung


error: Content is protected !!